My Previous Life as a German

Many years ago I was traveling from Chicago to Pakistan to do graduate studies in religion and philosophy.  En route I stopped in Ohio to visit my mother and to get may passport visa.  However, the visa had problems and I had to stay three weeks in Ohio waiting for clearance.  During that time, I met a young lady under unusual circumstances.  We dated for those weeks during which I had two unique “reincarnation-tinged” experiences with her.  You judge, I am still not quite sure how to explain these events.

The Ballroom Mirage

Our first date was at a gorgeous restaurant on Lake Erie.  It was a big open restaurant with people in very nice attire.  I was talking with my new friend when all of a sudden, my vision of the whole room changed abruptly.  Instead of an American restaurant, I was now looking at a room full of men wearing a German officer dress uniforms and women were in very fancy long white dresses.  I stared in disbelief, looking past my friend at this incredible transformation.  I felt paralyzed.

After about five to ten seconds the all-too-real mirage faded and I could hear my new friend’s voice saying, “Sabio, you OK?”  I shook my head and apologized to her and lied to her saying that I had just had a very strange memory.  I didn’t want to tell her about my vision — after all, we had just met and I wasn’t sure what  she would think of me if I were honest.  She said I was staring blankly into space.  Was this a petite mal seizure?  I would only have one more changed vision experience in my life years later,  so I can’t say I had a propensity toward these experiences.

The Prisoner Dream Confirmed

A few weeks later, two nights before I left for Pakistan,  I had a strange vivid dream.  In my dream, I was a German soldier who had somehow betrayed my comrades and was stripped of my uniform.  I was sitting in a line with other people (not all of them were soldiers).  My wrists were tied as were the wrists of those being held captive me.  The person next to me was actually a friend, but out of fear, we were not talking.  We were in a tunnel or a dark narrow corridor.  An armed German guard walked up to me and started talking to me.  Suddenly the guard got angry, pulled out his pistol and shot me in my chest.  I slumped into the lap of the friend next to me and died.

I woke from that dream with may heart beating and sweating.  The next day I was talking that same woman friend and without my mentioning my dream, she spontaneously told me she had a dream about me the same previous night.  In her dream it was night time and she was sitting next to me with a line people who were all prisoners.  Likewise, in her dream  someone came by and shot me.  She said I slumped into her lap and died.

My mouth hung open in huge surprise!  I shared my dream and then felt safe to tell her about the mirage I had seen a few weeks ago at the restaurant.  The “coincidence” was overwhelming for both of us.

My German Background:

  • My mother’s grandparents came from Germany.  During Word-War II when she was a young child, German was forbidden to speak in their house so that they did not stand out in their community.
  • Since I was very young, I was always attracted to German and studied it from 8th to 12th grade, in college and later at the Goethe Institute in Germany.

Related posts of mine:


Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “My Previous Life as a German

  1. The naturalistic explanation is obvious.

    You were working as an agent for the CIA, and your “religious studies” in Pakistan were a cover for a CIA assignment. The girl was an agent for a rival intelligence service, and had been tasked to get close to you and elicit information before your deployment to Pakistan.

    You didn’t know she was an enemy agent, but your subconscious mind was suspicious, and supplied you with a dream about getting caught.

    When you told your dream to the girl, she saw an opportunity to build rapport with you and break down your defenses. So she pretended to have the same dream.

    So, there is really only one question left. DID YOU TELL HER ANYTHING?!?

  2. @ JS Allen :
    Wow, you don’t know how close you are:
    (a) one obstacle in my relationship to this woman was that her father was convinced I was a CIA agent.
    (b) In Pakistan, another story, I had many encounters with the agency — the embassy pumped us ‘scholars’ for info on the communities we had “infiltrated”. Lots of embassy dinners.

    But, your naturalistic explanation made one slight mistake. She told me of her dream before I even mentioned mine. *spooky music fades in!

    Oh yeah, she is still alive, so obviously I never told her anything.😀

  3. Heh, I figured anyone with your life experiences would have extensive practice denying any ties to the CIA.

    My new explanation is that she was a hypnotist, and she hypnotized you to think you had the same dream.🙂

  4. Mike AKA MonolithTMA

    Interesting, particularly the shared dream. Reincarnation or genetic memory might be used to explain the vision and the dream, but then you throw her having the same dream into the mix and it’s all confusing. So I’m going with alien abduction and memory implanting.😉

  5. Boz

    Sabio, I like your posts that talk about strange experiences, for example, this one and death rock.

    This blog is a very unique atheist blog, I enjoy reading it.

  6. @ JS Allen
    You cracked me up, dude!

    @ Mike
    Aliens — hadn’t thought about that!

    @ Boz
    Thanks! Maybe my blog is unique among atheists because, as I wrote here, my “Atheism” is actually just a mere epiphenomena.
    Glad you are still around !!

  7. I agree with Boz, the death rock and now this one on re-incarnation are quite interesting – mainly because they speak of experiences and cannot truly be 100% explained…I like mystery.

  8. Sabio Lantz

    @ Society
    Yeah, I’d love to explain them, but just can’t. But I am OK with mystery. And I also, like you, have a weakness for it!😀

  9. Many years ago I read a book that I remember really nothing of except for one thing.
    The author claimed that if it could be proven that two people had the same dream at the same time it would have very profound implications. It has been so many years I no longer can remember why the author thought that this would be so important.
    I myself find it very intriguing but I can not say what if anything it would prove.
    4 years ago I had my only expieriences with something that could potentially be considered out of the ordinary. Over a period of several nights I woke up out of a deep sleep at 3 am with a thought that was so powerful it seemed the thought itself woke me up. Each thought was a short Confucian like little saying. I no longer remember off the top of my head what these thougths were but I did write them down somewhere and save them. One thought that I do remember though was, There will always be at least two explinations for everything that happens but if a really strange coincidence occurs you better be paying close attention.
    Your story of the German prisoner dream could have more than one explination.
    It does seem really strange that the two of you seemed to share an alternate reality. But was there does not seem to have been anything to pay close attention to. If there was and you didnt it does not seem that it resulted in any great harm.
    Of course your dream was not preceeded by any “instructions” that you should be paying attention.
    Yet it is possible that a possible “deep” meaning of this event will become apparent at some later time. As I walk routinely through the ruins of the Siegfried Line I find your dream particularly relevent to the history of this area.

  10. George "Toad" Shope

    Did you marry the girl? 😀

    She could be your soulmate but regardless, you clearly are connected somehow. What’s her German background? The two of you could have been gay lovers in the Reich together, that’s why you didn’t speak to your friend, for fear you’d cause his death. 😀

    Ribbit 🙂

  11. @ Toad
    Nah, we did not marry. I remember at that time that she sort of did feel like a “soul mate” (not that I believe in such a thing now). She ended up marrying a Lutheran pastor’s son — didn’t turn out well, I heard but we lost contact.

  12. Wunderbar! Fascinating story! I’ve had a rather loose theory bobbing around in the waters of my neurons regarding how past life experiences could be caused, but there is nothing in there which could explain how two people could think of the same story from two different perspectives except by practically impossible chance coincidence. I’m pleasantly baffled.


    (I have a German vocabulary of ~fifty words I still remember after trying to learn German for a vacation. My own family does have some German heritage too, on my father’s side through his grandmother.)

  13. Ja, Ich weiss auch nicht was geht hier! Aber ich glaube nicht, dass es etwas besonders seltsam ist.

    [Google translate may help — if I didn’t mess up my grammer too much. My German is 30 years unused.]

  14. dan

    The first night my wife and I slept together, I had a dream that I was going down with a ship, holding on to the rail. I had clear knowledge that if I attempted to jump off and swim, I would be sucked down anyway. My last thought, strangely: “I knew I should never have gotten on a ship made out of metal.” Then blackness.

    When I woke up, my wife said she had a dream that she was in a lifeboat, being rowed away from a sinking passenger ship, looking back, and watching it disappear beneath the waves.

  15. @ dan,
    Yeah, dreams can be weird. The question is — 99% times we compare dreams and they are disimilar but when they are similar, we remember them strongly — like a miracle. Thanx for visiting.

  16. dan

    It only takes one white crow to disprove the theory that all crows are black. If you are rationally examining the apparent truth or falsehood of the phenomenon of reincarnation, examine the voluminous case studies. Or for a more empirical approach, practice the standard meditative disciplines which are prescribed for the recall of past lives.

    The Tibetan Buddhist lamas say that there are two kinds of dream, the “weird” kind, as you say, and “dreams of clarity.” These latter result from a clearing of the subtle channels of energy in the body, and the establishment of consciousness therein during sleep.

  17. @ dan,
    Sure, it only takes one white crow, but it does not take only one white crow if the only evidence for that crow is the report of a drunk at a local bar.

    Evidence is weighted according to frequency, reproducibility and much more. Being a “lama” does not make someone automatically credible to me. Tests of some sort help — but as you know, even they have limitations. And I am not one to take stuff on faith.

  18. Wow, that was really interesting. I like the idea of reincarnation if only to be comforted about death.

    When I first met my husband, it was as if I had always known him, it was weird.

  19. Great story about your “dreams”. I too have a German heritage and family directly impacted during WWII. So, you story has personal meaning to me as well.

    I wonder what you were reading or might have been heavily influenced by before or during this time of your experiences? Also, maybe fears or emotions about going to Pakistan, war stories and movies coming to mind… You could write a novel or book that would be a great story.

    Did you write this story down soon after it occurred? Our brain embellishes memories, dreams, and experiences immediately but the more time passes the less accurate our memories are an account of what actually happened. There are numerous studies on this and “eye witness” testimonies are not typically good evidence in legal courts.

    Nevertheless, your story is fascinating and shows how easy it is to try to answers what your experiences were by calling them evidence of “reincarnation”. Thanks for sharing.

  20. @ Scott,
    Oh, there was lots of emotions up in the air at that time. My mother was again threatening to kill herself and I was living alone with her for that month. The girlfriend was new, and I was off to a new land. But, wasn’t reading anything about German — just Pakistan.🙂

    And yes, I could have embellished it. The brain does do that. But of course I don’t think I did — but then, the lying brain says that all the time!🙂

    Speaking of embellished, check out this ghost story of mine:

    After I wrote that story (25 years after the event) I had the two friends in the story see if they agree.

    The point on all these: I have weird experiences I can’t explain. I don’t believe in ghosts or reincarnation, but I have the experiences of folks who do. So I get it. I am OK with the fuzzy zone even while I don’t believe. Like you illustrate, there are lots of potential ways to explain them.

    Thanx for the reply.

Please share your opinions!

