I speaks wrong English

The same people deluded by “The Definition Myth” are also deluded into think that there is such a thing as “correct” English.  This dictionary website shows how wrong my English is.  Because according to them, out of the 100 most mispronounced words, I mispronounce 39/100:

across, affidavit, Antarctic, Arctic, athlete, barbiturate, candidate, cardsharp, champ at the bit, clothes, dilate, diphtheria, drown, et cetera, especially, February, founder, height, hierarchy, regardless, jewelry, Ku Klux, Klan, mayonnaise, miniature, moot, nuptial, ordnance, parliament, percolate, prerogative, prescription, perspire, Realtor, recur, silicon, spit and image, tenent, tenterhooks, triathlon,

That is why a spell checker is so important to me — it is not my spelling that is bad, but my English.


Filed under Linquistics

4 responses to “I speaks wrong English

  1. Ian

    I think that website is just highly prejudice towards english pronunciation norms, rather than US usage.

    Flounder/founder I thought was funny – I suspect that started as a kind of jokey intentional mistake. My wife and I fell into the jokey habit of saying “casting nasturtiums” (or cistercians) rather than aspersions – I have to remind myself to tell my son what it is supposed to be sometime…

  2. English is a dynamic language, a mistake can become correct.

    The correct usage of a failed spectacular is “it went off like a damp squib” but it’s often “it went off like a damp squid”.

    A squib was a firework.

    Does it matter ? Not really.

  3. @ Ian :

    I had to look up casting aspersions. It says it is an idioM so I felt relieved not knowing it. Because I ain’t no bloody idioT. But I enjoyed the imagine of a flycaster with foul language on the end of her line.
    But is that idiom British or am I indeed an ignorant Yank?

    And further, I had to look up the nose-twisting nasturtium and austere cistercians. Man, you know how to make a chap feel good.
    Unlike you, I left the links here so other poor blokes don’t have their days ruined too.

    And if it is OK with you, I am going to walk away from this thread thinking your wife may talk and laugh with you but she probably has little clue what you are saying most the time but instead just humors you with mimicry and feigned attention. (Well, I can only judge from my world).

  4. @ Paul Baird :
    Thanks for dropping in. I took a peek at your site. I am comforted again, that like Ian, you come from Great Britain and so that I didn’t have to further chastise (chastize?) myself for not knowing “damp squib“. I wish you Empire folks would remember that us colonists still haven’t mastered the Queen’s language. But I’ve got to say, I love the expression though I can’t use it in my neighborhood.

    Your site looks interesting — but I had to look up propositional apologist too — damn! I had heard it once, but forgot. Heck, I even use the term “propositional” a few times in my blog and even in relationship to theology.

Please share your opinions!

