Being Not-Alive

I had the pleasure of sitting next to a friend’s 4 year-old during a large group gathering this weekend.   The little guy was talking about how old he was and told all of us, “I wasn’t alive when my sister was first alive.”

I couldn’t help myself and to his parents’ surprise I asked him, “What was it like to *not* be alive”?  And he unhesitatingly relied, “It was just fine.”

Everyone breathed a sigh of relief.  I smiled.


Filed under Philosophy & Religion

8 responses to “Being Not-Alive

  1. alycliffhanger

    beautiful. I’ve been wondering about that 🙂

  2. @ Aly,

    Yeah, here is a child telling us he has been dead and it is OK.

  3. I’ve asked that same question of many kids. That’s a common answer. My favorite reply to the question, “Where were you before you were born?” was

    “I was a twinkle in my Dad’s eye.”

  4. @ Dan,
    Ah, but that is a taught idealism! It was the raw unrehearsed realism I enjoyed.

  5. Oh, yes. I asked the kid’s dad about it. He said he told his kid that, just as his father had told him. It probably went all the way back to Ireland.

  6. Brandon

    I totally love this.

    Can it be any more clear that certain metaphysical anxieties need conditioning?

  7. @ Brandon :
    Thanks! Yep, you get it ! !

Please share your opinions!

