Jesus Heels

My drawing is inspired by the Naked Pastor’s recent cartoon: “Jesus Heels“.  When I saw the title of David’s post, I envisioned a Jesus who is far more modern and liberated than most Christians would probably want to imagine their ancient Palestinian teacher.  What do you think:  If he were around today, would he offend polite sensibilities in this manner?


Filed under Philosophy & Religion

11 responses to “Jesus Heels

  1. Ajahn Brahm has a story in which he meets some girls he gave a talk to a few years earlier at their school. He is a bit surprised when they turn out to remember his name. The girls’ reply: How could we have forgotten a monk called Bra?!

    To answer your question, I think he would know where to joke about this (or anything else) and where not to. But I seem to have a very naive picture of wise, enlightened etc. people. They would be ‘nice’.🙂

  2. @ Roni,
    That was funny. You are right, there are those whose opinion is that only “niceness” will improve the world and some that other methods are often called for and useful. Most often people chose either nice or not-nice to match their personalities and then just retro-justify in their tradition. Being awake would would assist to choose the better technique for the particular setting. However, on the web, there really is not fixed setting — too many readers. Some will benefit, some will be upset by the not-niceness and some will not respond in anyway. Who knows?

  3. well done! shows how Jesus is often overlooked as a feminist of his day. Like outlawing divorce (since all a dude had to do was drop a shoe in the town square and didn’t have to support his now ex-wife in anyway, leaving her completely cut-off) and all the big players in the early church who were women.

  4. Yeah, my Christian friend understands ! Indeed, though I don’t think the NT gives a consistent picture of Jesus, part of that picture is a guy who was a rebel against superficial rules — he may very well have worn heels to wake people out of their prejudices against gays and sexism. My cartoon should not be offensive, for those that understand that Jesus. The sacred, lamb carrying white guy might have been bothered, but he was created by a greeting card company, I think.🙂
    Thanks Luke

  5. That’s funny!

    I think that it is unlikely that Jesus would have sported heels, given that God made cross-dressing forbidden in Deuteronomy 22:5. But, on the other hand, Jesus contradicted many of God’s other laws, so, who knows? 🙂

    It would be utterly hilarious for Jesus to show up in His Second Coming all dressed in drag! Then we would really know who stands by Jesus!

  6. @ The Wise Fool
    Yeah, someone liked it! I was excited about putting this up because I am not an artist (as we can all see) and I was stretching beyond my comfort zone. Yet I thought it was funny too.

    Yes, the various conflict NT Jesus’ are puzzling: some say we must obey every law and others say we can disregard some now that he came.

    I had to look up Deuteronomy 22:5:

    5 “A woman shall not wear man’s clothing, nor shall a man put on a woman’s clothing; for whoever does these things is an abomination to the LORD your God.

    Fascinating — doing something which is forbidden is so much more exciting.😉

  7. CRL

    Fascinating. Now, not only am I going to hell for my beliefs/lack thereof, I can go there for wearing ties! (Especially if they are made of mixed fiber!)

    In all seriousness, I’m sure any Son of God would have enough self confidence not to fear getting in touch with his feminine side.

  8. Sarah

    Love it,

  9. @ CRL :
    WOw ! You wear ties — gee, never knew that!🙂

    @ Sarah:

  10. Hey, the Biblical Jesus of Nazareth was depicted as going to wedding parties and hanging out with society’s misfits. In other words, he knew how to have fun and wasn’t uptight. I can see him having a sense of humor too.

  11. @ Ahab:
    Indeed, I agree. One of the Jesus’ in the Gospels seems to me to have those characteristics.

Please share your opinions!

