Link Aesthetics: Long vs Short

Please vote to tell us which sort of linking method you prefer. Below I offer two identical paragraphs illustrating two different linking styles.  Which is would you rather read?

Style A: Long Links

Bloggers use hypertext linking in very different ways. This post is one of my several posts discussing blogging issues. Here I wish to argue for short links vs. long links, but tell us what you prefer. My reasons are simple: First, links add clutter because they change the font either in color and or with underlining, so wouldn’t you imagine you’d want to minimize that clutter and improve the aesthetics? Cluttery, long links are very hard on the reading eye. Second, when links are long, it is often difficult to separate one link from the next and is a design failure. I have other links issues, but I will save those for another post.

Style B: Short Links

Bloggers use hypertext linking in very different ways. This post is one of my several posts discussing blogging issues. Here I wish to argue for short links vs. long links, but tell us what you prefer. My reasons are simple: First, links add clutter because they change the font either in color and or with underlining, so wouldn’t you imagine you’d want to minimize that clutter  and improve the aesthetics? Cluttery, long links are very hard on the reading eye. Second, when links are long, it is often difficult to separate one link from the next and is a design failure. I have other links issues, but I will save those for another post.

5 Comments

Filed under Blogging

5 responses to “Link Aesthetics: Long vs Short

  1. exrelayman

    Like all of my predecessor voters, I like the short links better than the long links. When it comes to accuracy however, I prefer long thinks to short thinks. (I hear the groans! From link to think was short but not pretty.)

  2. The one I prefer has not consistently been the one I have tended to use. Thanks for making me think about this!

  3. @ exrelayman:
    “Long think” ! Nice.

    @ James McGrath:
    Glad it was useful. The improvement in readability is huge, I think. So far >90% (n=15) agree.

  4. Sam Hampton

    How about some nihilistic comedy???

  5. Dan

    I prefer short links. I also prefer them to appear at the end of a post as a footnote so the reader is encouraged to hear you out before jumping away to the linked information.

Please share your opinions!

