Quote Synthesis Challenge

As some of you know, I am busy working on my new poetry blog over at “Fields of Yuan” (come and subscribe if you are interested).   Well, today I thought I’d double post.

A frequent theme on Triangulations is about my “Many Selves” perspective.  Continuing on that theme, below I have playfully blended two famous quotes to show how I would correct Socrates in light of my “Many Selves” perspective.

Challenge for Readers: In the comments, give us two authors, their quotes and your new blend.  Serious, Funny or otherwise — all are welcome!  Show us your creativity!!


Filed under Philosophy & Religion

9 responses to “Quote Synthesis Challenge

  1. Great idea! Let’s say that quotes taken from poetry counts. I’d like to think that Walt and Emily would have been eventually become good friends had they ever met. 🙂

    Emily Dickinson, from a poem by the same name as this quote:

    I’m nobody! Who are you?

    Walt Whitman, from “Song of Myself”:

    I celebrate myself, and sing myself,
    And what I assume you shall assume,
    For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.

  2. Belief in a cruel God makes a cruel man. (Then) Cruel leaders are replaced only to have the new leaders turn cruel.
    Thomas Paine
    Che Guevara
    Is that the type of thing that you have in mind?

  3. Euripides (5th c. BCE):
    “Blessed is he who learns how to engage in inquiry, with no impulse to harm his countrymen or to pursue wrongful actions, but perceives the order of immortal and ageless nature, how it is structured.”

    Augustine (9 centuries later):
    “There is another form of temptation, even more fraught with danger. This is the disease of curiosity… It is this which drives us to try and discover the secrets of nature, those secrets which are beyond our understanding, which can avail us nothing and which man should not wish to learn.”

    “The one who is curious to learn and understand nature is blessed and not blessed.”

    (If that is a contradiction, it is because it is so.)

  4. TWF

    “If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.”
    “Invention is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration”

    If your invention doesn’t work, then you need to invest a lot more sweat.

  5. @ TWF: Fantastic! Had me laughing !!

    @ Takis : Nice! Ah, the curse of curiosity.

    @ Qurtis: Great quotes, I did not know them. But what would the combo be? See the other comments. Maybe something like:
    “Belief in a cruel God makes all new leaders cruel.”

    @ Lydia: Thanks. Sure, poetry quotes definitely count!
    So let’s see:
    (1) I’m nobody! Who are you? — Emily Dickinson 1891
    (2) I celebrate myself, and sing myself,
    And what I assume you shall assume,
    For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.
    by Walt Whitman 1880s

    (3a) I’m nobody, but I celebrate myself!
    (3b) I assume you are nobody.

    Give is a combo you like — I made too attempts.

  6. CRL

    For humor, let’s go for the two books that happen to be closest: Fundamentals of Physics and The Sun Also Rises.

    “Because we can treat the tomato as a particle…”

    “‘Cheer up,’ I said.’All countries look like the moving pictures.'”

    “If you can treat a tomato as a particle, all countries look like the moving pictures.”

    This makes some crazy sort of sense. In physics funland and in the movies, everything works much better.

  7. Before God we are all equally wise – and equally foolish.

    Ethical axioms are found and tested not very differently from the axioms of science. Truth is what stands the test of experience.

    Both by Albert Einstein.

    Truth will make the difference between being wise and being foolish.

  8. Indeed, but to qutoe someone better than me, “I am nobody, who are you?” Emily Dickson

    Blog on …

  9. @ CRL: Wow, that is crazy. LOL.

    @ Jamie Dedes: Hmmm, curious how you would mix quotes.

Please share your opinions!

