Whack_CreationistMy post called “Is Evolution a Theory” has 127 comments! However, many of them are complete Creationist nonsense — like these little moles. Fortunately, I have some very educated, generous readers who share fantastic info in their comments. One of those readers, Ian, while correcting a creationist said,

“At least then we might be able to have a sane discussion about some topic. Rather than playing rhetorical whack-a-mole.”

WhackI had not heard the expression “whack-a-mole” so I looked it up.  It is a fantastic description of a common form of debating.  I actually have a post called “Fart Logic” that describes a similar style of bad debate.  Anyway, I was so excited to learn the phrase “whack-a-mole” that I created these series of images appropriate to the context Ian mentioned it in.  Hope you enjoy them!

The Wiki article on “Whack-a-Mole” mentions several uses of the phrase:

  • a repetitious and futile task: each time an adversary is “whacked” it only pops up again somewhere else.
  • It is used in the computer and networking industry to describe the phenomenon of fending off recurring spammers, vandals or miscreants.
  • In the military it refers to ostensibly inferior opposing troops who keep re-appearing.

Ian works in computer science (and other fields) but I can also imagine him having a few arcade games in basement with whack-a-mole being one of them.


Filed under Evolution, Science

7 responses to “Whack-a-Creationist

  1. I caught that too – I loved that phrase! I was standing in line at the store when I read his comment, and literally walked to my car laughing to myself over that – “rhetorical whack-a-mole”. Classic! So fitting a phrase for the “debate” strategy in question.

    And to Ian, I’ve been enjoying your comments on that thread. It might feel like a lost cause, but you definitely have an appreciative audience, speaking for myself.

  2. Also, Sabio – excellent picture! Missed it on my mobile first time around.

  3. @ Brandon: Thanx. Yeah, Ian and amelie’s comments were great educational material. And watching the back-and-forth has been instructional.

  4. Good one Sabio, I was thinking wackadoodle but this is even better!

    Aw, and thanks for the kind words. Congrats on a post that prompted so much great discussion and exchange of information. A great way to learn from my peers.

  5. Ian

    Thanks for the compliment from me too. I like the graphic.

  6. Ian

    @Brandon – thanks. I love the title of your blog, btw. Pity we can’t see it😉

  7. I can’t help wanting to pronounce it like guacamole.

Please share your opinions!

