Cultivating Comments

Note to readers: This is the last half of my previous post.  I thought it best they stand alone.  Sorry your comments got separated.  But I have changed the content a little, so if you’d like to add more, please do.

Comments I Enjoy

On my previous post I listed the reasons I blog.  Some of those reason don’t depend on comments at all– I would blog even if I did not get comments: to organize my thoughts, practice writing out my thoughts, leave a legacy, use my creativity and to study other bloggers in an anthropological manner.  But comments, were an unexpected source of pleasure in blogging.  And I imagine they are a large part of why I continue blogging.  Indeed the lifespan of personal blogs is said to be between 1-2 years and it is because of comments that I still blog.  They offer me company with the kind of people I like to spend time, they help be polish my discussion and argument skills, they help me improve my thinking and give me a way to influence others.

So what at the type of commentors I enjoy?  I like commentors:

  • who follow my spirit of my comment policies (see the tab)
  • I enjoy substantial comments, sincere comments
  • I like argumentative arguments that avoid personal attacks, strive to make progress, are open (don’t hide their cards)
  • that avoid verbosity when possible — though I love long comments that are on topic, informative and focused.  But long comments are often preachy, scattered, self-absorbed, verbose and …
  • I really love learning from my commentors.
  • I enjoy being corrected by my commentors.

Commentless Blogs

So, since I enjoy good comments so much, I am amazed when I come to personal blogs (atheist, religious or otherwise) where there are consistently no comments.  My speculation as for why many bloggers don’t get comments is that they:

  • are too verbose
  • write only about common sense things that bores readers
  • lack dialogue skills
  • don’t listen to others
  • writes to the wrong audience
  • doesn’t know how to advertise or doesn’t care.  That is, they don’t visit other blogs and make interesting comments.
  • are categorically confused
  • have obvious psychological issues people avoid

As I wander the web and find new blogs, if I see no comments, I typically will stop reading fairly quickly unless the post’s writing is amazing – which it rarely is.  And indeed, I begin to suspect one of the above reasons for their lack of comments.

Thus, my advice to bloggers with commentless blogs who want to be read is: figure out how to get people engaged in your posts (looking for hints from the above).

Question for readers: So, what do you feel about comments?



Filed under Blogging

2 responses to “Cultivating Comments

  1. Re, commentless blogs: I think some blogs just don’t leave any “hook” for a comment. Some lack of perfection, sense of openness, non-dogmatic opinions, or raw-but-not-too-raw emotions make it possible for commenters to contribute, advance, or just share. Otherwise, it’s just a TV program with a too-accessible remote control.

  2. @ Orange,
    Great points. Thanx for sharing.

Please share your opinions!

