A Meandering Water Bag

I read a quote today which made me think of myself. Let me share how my mind changed the quote as I read it  (brackets are my additions and strikeouts are my mind’s subtractions):

[Sometimes I feel like] “little more than [a] gelatinous bag s containing [merely] digestive organs and gonads, drifting at the whim of current life.

Funny how the mind works, eh? –because this sentence is actually about jellyfish. It is from the scary read: “They are Taking Over” in the NY Review of Books (HT Cris). The article, if read properly, undoes any mistaken delusions that evolution has directionality or that humans are superior in any important way to other critters. Smashed too, is the notion of “primitive”.

Heck, environmentalist that paint humans as out-of-step with Nature [written with a capital “N”, of course] ] will also have to think again about their jeremiad screeds demanding that humans wake up and respect nature since other species don’t either.

Many of my sentences above are pathetically anthropocentric, but damn-it, what do you expect from a meandering water bag?


  1. Among computer geeks, there are three types of errors: hardware errors, software errors and waterware errors (human operator error).
  2. See my 1987 story which mentions these evil creatures: “Indonesian Rapist Ghost“.


Filed under Philosophy & Religion

2 responses to “A Meandering Water Bag

  1. Tim

    “Human beings were invented by water as a device for transporting itself from one place to another.”

    ― Tom Robbins, Another Roadside Attraction

  2. TWF

    It’s the jellyfish apocalypse! That was a fascinating article.

    I remember on a vacation I had gone out in an ocean kayak and I went through a jellyfish bloom. I don’t know what kind they were, but it was a bit freaky, to say the least.

    Should be interesting to see how it all plays out. I guess I’ll have to get a taste for jellyfish.

Please share your opinions!

