Another Hindu Atheist: Arun Madhavan

Krishna: fiction, fact or both?

Krishna: fiction, fact or both?

Nothing helps better to see the inner workings of religious phenomena than studying faiths outside of your own natural domain. I enjoy reading about Hinduism as it was one of the main factors in helping me see through my Christianity.  And today I read this post of Arun Madhavan , a Hindu-born South Indian, where he discusses his Atheism.

I thought I’d share three short thoughts I had while reading his story:

(1) The Mahabharata & The Ramayana

I am doing a series of post on the Mahabharata and the Ramayana (timeline here). Arun tells us how important these two epics are to Hindu religiosity:

“My earliest introduction to Hinduism was through Mahabharata and Ramayana , the big Hindu (Indian) epics. I liked the Mahabharatha very much because it was a gripping tale with huge variety of characters, umpteen number of sub plots and a mega scale.”

(2) Reclaiming Villains

Arun, like my post here about Judas and Ravana, illustrates the value of challenging religious myths with counter stories. He discusses how he began to see behind his childhood stories.

“My mother encouraged me to read alternate view points about the epics in which the ‘good’ guys like Pandavas and Rama were not that good and the ‘bad’ guys like Kauravas and Ravana clan were not that bad.”

(3) Natural vs Unnatural Atheists

It seems Arun is a “natural atheist” — never embracing Hinduism as an adult. Maybe Arun’s natural atheism flavors his criticisms of theism (albeit Hindu Theism).  Maybe Arun would think differently about about religion in general is he weren’t a Natural Atheist. Perhaps that is why it is so easy for his naive optimism when he says:

“The way things are progressing, atheism may become the default position of all human beings.”



Filed under Philosophy & Religion

4 responses to “Another Hindu Atheist: Arun Madhavan

  1. I find that I can find truth in all beliefs something that makes me think OK, I can use that in my daily life. I also find the more I know about world religions it makes me tolerant and understanding of others. But it doesn’t make me question my own beliefs in fact it strengthens them.

  2. @davekheath,
    Thanx for stopping in. Great attitude – very useful. But likewise, I look at all beliefs and think, “Hmmmm, that belief may be harmful in the following ways ….”
    Open mind but still discerning. Can’t say I get it right, of course.

  3. I read his why he became an atheist which presents a very interesting perspective maybe because it’s different from what we read frequently on the net and elsewhere

  4. @ makagutu,
    What do you read on “the net and elsewhere” about his experience? I’m not sure I follow you?

Please share your opinions!

