Soul Beliefs: a course

Soul_BeliefsThis is an index for posts inspired by a free on-line course from Rutgers University (New Jersey, USA), through called “Soul Beliefs“.  I hope some of you join me.  A neuroscience  and psychology professor pair up to teach what they call their “end-of-career” course.  If you plan to takes this course with me, let me know in the comments and I may blog on issues in the course.

  • Play Back Speed: the lecturers are slow, so you can play back at 2x and finish the course quickly.  But does the option of fast playback speeds come with side effects?
  • Identity & Investment: watching a commentor change
  • Diet: Giving God the Glory:  In comparative religion, we turn on our objectivity when studying the other guy.


Filed under Philosophy & Religion

9 responses to “Soul Beliefs: a course

  1. Ian

    I’m signed up for it. I’m also currently on the European Mysticism and Psychology course, which started last Monday.

  2. How is that mysticism class, I thought about it. Instead, presently, I am being killed by the Linear Circuits course. Tomorrow I hope to try “Control of Mobile Robots” course. Meanwhile I am doing “Javascript” on Khan academy to tutor a friends caughter and trying to do a Bass guitar course. Definitely over-extended, something is bound to break! 🙂
    I am sure you know the issue, Ian.

  3. Sounds good, but i fear i can’t commit to it timewise. That said, I’d love to hear how it proceeds.

  4. Lee

    I’d love to do that course, but I’ll be starting the Peter Singer Practical Ethics course in March before the Soul Beliefs course has finished. I can’t afford to do more than one at any given time.

    I would enjoy you blogging about the course, though!

  5. Ah, don’t worry about that Lee — you don't have to sign up for credit or anything. And the lectures are simple. I am taking an electronics course now that make the lecture courses look like a vacation. You can just catch what you can.
    I won't be blogging through the course — only if ideas inspire me.
    Thanx for your note.

  6. @ sab. How r u finding it? Do you not think these guys are making some monumental assumptions. Maybe that is the premise of the course, but they seem to base most of what they say in the first lot of lectures on pure conjecture. I guess that is probably in the nature of it but simply observing that religion causes cohesion and then assuming that is why it came into being seems to me to be a stretch. I might put on my Ark hat on this and ask fro some. Real evidence that that is actually the case…..I guess lectures titled the function of religion already have their premise firmly in place.

  7. When trying to figure out what caused earlier religion-like behavior — like a million years ago, speculation and assumption is all they have. Anthropology and archeology gives us something to go on. You’d have to be specific about what in particular you think is a “monumental” assumption.
    Religion certainly is a cohesive tool.
    Cohesion is certainly used for identity for many.
    Theories of religion abound.
    Best way to view this stuff though — as my coming post says, is don’t think about your OWN favorite religion or you will lose objectivity.

  8. Thanks for the link to this course Sabio! I stayed up until 2am last night (oh yeah, I know how to party on a Friday night!😉 ) watching several of the lectures. I enjoyed hearing about what all the different students were taught to believe. I’m looking forward mostly to Musolino’s lectures but some others look quite enticing as well. I love Coursera! Last one I took was intro to philosophy which bored me a bit but at least I learned some things. This one you’ve linked to is quite a bit more enjoyable than that one.

  9. My pleasure, Howie. Yeah, the student interviews were interesting.

Please share your opinions!

