Poetry: Moyra Donaldson

Moyra A woman addresses her body

by Moyra Donaldson

For all my talk of soul, it was you
always, sweet little beast, amoral
animal, who showed me the ways
of Love, its passions and crucifixions.

The artist, the anatomist, the poet
and the surgeon, they have seen
the glory in you; you beatified them
in the moments where they believed.

You are my way, my truth, my life;
I am what you have made of me
and still I do not know the limits of you,
or where you will take me next.

__________________________________________

See more excellent poems in Sabio’s Poetry Anthology

About Moyra Donaldson (author):

An Irish poet was born and brought up in Co Down and has been described as one of the country’s most distinctive and accomplished writers.

My impression:

Many religious traditions within Christianity, Buddhism and Hinduism, look down on the body.  Only the minority of religions actually celebrate the body.  But thank goodness, most people largely ignore their religions.  I loved the due awe, given by the author to her body.

2 Comments

Filed under Philosophy & Religion

2 responses to “Poetry: Moyra Donaldson

  1. Nice poem. No wonder, she’s Irish… 🙂
    Question. You say “only the minority of religions actually celebrate the body”. Really? Are there any? I’m curious.
    Also: “But thank goodness, most people largely ignore their religions”. I’m not quite sure about that.

    I read the poem without noticing the title and read it carefully trying to guess what the beast was meant to be. And *then* I saw the title. My guess was wrong.

  2. @Takis,
    Some forms of almost every religion have body-friendly perspectives, but they are the minority (as you are aware).

    Concerning, “Most ignore their religions”, see my post Most Christians Don’t Believe“. Maybe you will disagree with me there. We can carry on that conversation there, if you wish.

Please share your opinions!

