How we evaluate others

Evaluating Others


01/04/2016 · 2:23 pm

5 responses to “How we evaluate others

  1. Good work with your drawing.

    At first I thought your diagram was suggesting “me” is always perceived as taking the “middle”/balanced position when we compare ourselves with others. As in, I think, “I’m perfectly balanced on the NEAT scale between my more sloppy and my very tidy friends”.

    Actually, I am aware that I may not be in the “middle” line always when I evaluate or compare myself with acquaintances. For instance, I may evaluate myself as being “Too Neat” or maybe at extreme low “assertiveness” endpoint in some situations with acquaintances.

    What are you thinking the diagram represents? Is “me” always on the midpoint of the line correct evaluation?

  2. @ Scott:

    We think of each others in relationship to ourselves — as more or less than us. Whether in the center or not, depends on the person. But most of us like to think of ourselves as pretty standard.

    Someone may be “more” neat than us, but that does not mean they are “too” neat. Yet such a subtle difference in our thinking is common.

    Make sense?

  3. Framing it as “More” or “Less” than me in comparison makes sense…rather than too much or too little. Thanks for your explanation.

  4. @ Skeptic Meditation
    Right, but this diagram is making fun of the self-centered, self-aggrandizing aspect of human thinking. The “too much” or “too little” was the point of this diagram. Your choice of words would turn the diagram into common sense — and of how we should strive to think.

  5. Haha. Good to hear that I resonated with “common sense” making more sense. Though I get fooled and self-centered on plenty of other things🙂

Please share your opinions!

